8/8: Join Day of His Power at 7 regional centres across Singapore.
+
Aa
Day 12 / 12.07.23 / Pastor Dominic Yeo, General Superintendent, The Assemblies of God of Singapore

Day 12: To the other side

MARK 4:35-5:20

The Scripture tells us in Mark 4:35: “That day when evening came, he said to his disciples, let us go over to the other side.”

This is an interesting verse when we understand the context of Mark 4. 

In Mark 4, the Scripture tells us that – as Jesus was teaching – many people came to listen to his ministry. In fact, I would liken it to a preacher who is preaching and his church starts growing. This small church then very soon becomes a megachurch. 

The Scripture tells us that, wherever Jesus went, there was always a crowd. And that when Jesus was by the Sea of Galilee teaching, there was such a big crowd that the disciples had to feed the crowd that day and therefore we have, in Matthew, the miracle where Jesus used five loaves of bread and two fish to feed the multitudes. 

Here in this Gospel of Mark 4, the Scripture tells us that there was a crowd and, very soon, as the megachurch started growing, Jesus turns around to his disciples and says: Let us go over to the other side. 

I believe God is challenging every local church today. And one of the phenomena about the churches in Singapore is that, in a country like Singapore, we have one of the most number of megachurches around. 

In fact, I want to challenge every church today, particularly the megachurches, to understand that it is important to have megachurch movements. But more so, as we build such a strong ministry, we must remember to go over to the other side. 

Why is it important to go over to the other side? Well, let’s follow this story as the disciples and Jesus made their way over to the other side.

God is challenging every local church today.

The Bible tells us they went across the lake and, as soon as they went across the lake, when Jesus got out of the boat, a man with an evil spirit came from the tomb to meet him. (Mark 5:2)

This man lived in a tomb and no one could bind him anymore, not even with a chain. This was an infamous person, possessed by thousands of demons. He was always chained and none of the chains could hold him. Nothing could bind him.

When Jesus and the disciples arrived on this other side, there was this confrontation. Many of us have read this story and would have heard multiple sermons on this. But there is a very important verse that tells us of the importance of Jesus coming over to the other side. 

As Jesus came toward this demon-possessed man, the demon-possessed man knelt before Jesus, the son of the living God “and he begged Jesus again and again not to send them out of the area.” (Mark 5:10)

Nothing could bind him.

I believe there are principalities over our nation, over the different facets of society and community and there are demons that control and God is challenging the Church of Jesus Christ to go over to the other side so that we can set men and women free. 

As a result of this power confrontation, this man was delivered and the Bible tells us that the Decapolis, a union of 10 cities, heard about Jesus. 

It is about time that you and I go over to the other side so that, through the confrontation, men and women will hear about Jesus. Let’s pray:

Father, I pray for the Church in Singapore, that we will not be loud just to have a big ministry. I pray that we go over to the other side because there is always a man, a woman, a community, a family, that needs to be set free from the attacks and control of demonic forces. 

We pray, Father, as men and women, as families, and as communities come to know you, that the larger community will hear about the fame of our Lord Jesus Christ. 

Bless this Church in Singapore right now as we go over to the other side. 

In Jesus’ name, Amen.


Download the PDF version of today’s devotional here.

/ Reflect
  • Why did Jesus, with his disciples, go to the other side?
  • What does “crossing over to the other side” look like in your life this season?
  • Is there something holding you back from going over to the other side where Christ is leading you? Ask God for His strength as you go with Him!
/ Pray
  • Pray for the Christians battling anger, unforgiveness, lust and other sins that bind us and shame us. Pray for God’s equipping power and authority to overcome these principalities and bring liberation to those who are bound, that we might worship God freely and joyfully.
  • Pray for obedience and courage to heed God’s call to leave our comfort zones and follow Jesus to “the other side”, whether that means people who are different, regions that are challenging, or situations that are daunting, in order to share the Good News.
  • Pray for the spread of the Gospel and for revival fire. Ask for Christ’s love for the lost to fill us. Confess and repent of our inward-looking tendencies, as individuals and as the Body of Christ. Jesus came to seek out and save the lost. Ask God for the opportunity and ability to do the same.

《祂大能之日》华语祷告聚集 • 8月9日 • 不见不散!
+
Aa
2023
Day 12 / 12.07.23 / Pastor Dominic Yeo, General Superintendent, The Assemblies of God of Singapore

第十二天:渡到对岸去吧

马可福音 4:35-5:20

圣经经文在马可福音 4:35那天晚上,耶稣对门徒说:“我们渡到对岸去吧。”

当我们了解马可福音第四章发生了什么事,就会发现这是很有意思的经文。 

在马可福音第四章,圣经告诉我们当耶稣正在教导,有一大群人来听他的事工。事实上,我更想把这个比喻为传道人在讲道,而他的教会开始增长。这间小教会很快就成为大型教会。

圣经告诉我们,无论耶稣去哪里,都有人群跟随他。而且当耶稣在加利利的海边教导时,是一大群人,导致门徒需要负责喂饱他们。而在马太福音中,耶稣使用五饼二鱼喂饱了众人。

在马可福音第四章,经文告诉我们那里有一大群人,而且很快地,一间大型教会开始成长,耶稣转向他的门徒,说:“我们渡到对岸去吧。”

我相信神今天在挑战每一间本地教会。新加坡教会的其中一个现象就是,像新加坡这样的国家,我们就有好些大型教会。

事实上,我今天也要挑战每一间教会,特别是大型教会,要知道有大型教会的运动是很重要的。但有甚者,当我们建立一个强大的事工,我们必须记得要渡到对岸去。

为什么渡到对岸去是这么重要的呢?那么,让我们一起关注这个故事,跟随门徒和耶稣一起渡到对岸去。

圣经告诉我们他们要渡到湖的对岸去,而当他们渡过了湖,当耶稣走出船外时,有个被鬼附的人从坟茔中出来见到耶稣。(马可福音5:2)

这个人住在坟茔中,没有人能够捆绑他,连锁链也不行。这是个声名狼藉的人,因为她被上千个鬼附在身上。他经常被捆绑,但没有任何锁链能够绑住他,没有任何东西绑得住他。

当耶稣和门徒抵达对岸时,在那里有个对峙的情况。我们当中很多人都读过这个故事,也听过他的身上有“群”。但这里有个重要的经文,告诉我们耶稣渡到对岸去的重要性。

当耶稣走向这个被鬼附的人,他跪在耶稣这位永生神之子的跟前“再三求耶稣不要叫他们离开那地方。”(马可福音5:10)

我相信在我们有执政掌权的在我们的国家之上、也在社会和社群的有许多方面之上,更有天空灵界的恶魔。神在挑战耶稣基督的教会渡到对岸去,让我们给人们得自由。

作为这能力对抗的结果,这个人被释放,而圣经也告诉我们, 在十个城市中,低加坡里也听闻了耶稣。

现在正是你和我渡到对岸去的时候!好在通过对峙的时候,人们可以听闻耶稣。让我们一起祷告:

父啊,我祷告在新加坡的教会,我们不会因有大事工而自大。我祷告我们渡到对岸去是因为总有一个男人、女人、社群、家庭,需要从魔鬼黑暗势力的攻击和控制中被释放出来。

我们祷告,父啊,我们作为一个男人、女人、家庭和社群来认识你,更大的社群将会听闻我们主耶稣基督伟大的名。

当我们渡到对岸去,求你祝福新加坡的教会。

奉耶稣的名,阿门。


这里下载今日灵修的PDF版本。

/ 反思
  • 为什么耶稣和他的门徒要渡到对岸去?
  • 在你生命中的这个季节,“渡到对岸去”是个什么样的情况呢?
  • 有什么事物阻挡你跟随耶稣的带领渡到对岸去?当你跟随主的时候,要向上帝求力量!
/ 祷告
  • 为那些与发怒、不原谅、情欲和其他捆绑和羞辱我们的罪而正在争战的基督徒祷告。祷告我们神装备的大能和权柄来对抗这些执政掌权的、给被捆绑的人带来释放,让我们得以自由、喜乐的敬拜神。
  • 祷告顺服和大胆来听从神的呼召他,离开我们的舒适区去跟随耶稣“渡到对岸去”无论这意味着不同的人、地区的更动、或是在令人畏惧的情况,也要传扬好消息。
  • 祷告福音和复兴的火得到传扬。 寻求耶稣对失丧者的爱来充满我们。承认并悔改我们作为基督肢体和个人却只关心自我的想法。耶稣来, 是要寻找和拯救失䘮的人。求神给我们机会与能力来做同样的事。