8/8: Join Day of His Power at 7 regional centres across Singapore.
+
Aa
Day 11 / 11.07.23 / Pastor Andrew Leong, Lead Pastor, Kingdomcity Singapore

Day 11: The greatest commandment is this

MATTHEW 22:37-39 “Jesus replied: “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind.’ This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: ‘Love your neighbour as yourself.’ All the Law and the Prophets hang on these two commandments.””

Which is the greatest commandment? In Matthew 22:37, Jesus said: “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, and with all your mind. This is the first and greatest commandment. And the second is like it: You shall love your neighbour as yourself. On these two commandments hang all the law and prophets.” 

Love God, love people. 

If we love God, we must love people. Reaching the next generation requires love. Reaching our youth requires a love that is expressed, a love that is demonstrated. 

If we love God, we love people in a language that they receive. Loving people also means not just in a way that I understand love but in a way that they receive love. It’s not more rules, not more correction or tough love, but instead affirmation, encouragement, inspiration, a sense of belonging and empowerment. 

A few months ago, I met a guy at the hawker centre and we started a conversation because he had a really cool bag and he had a tattoo on his arm of a manta ray. I had a conversation with him and I found out that he had not been to church for a long time.

I said that I was a pastor of a church and I would love to welcome him to church. I gave him my number and, over the next few days, we started texting and whatsapping. Out of the blue, he sends me a message and says: “I would like to get water baptised. How do I go about doing it?” 

I said to him: “If you are serious about getting water baptised, come to church this Sunday. Right after service, we will get you water baptised.” 

Guess what happened? Sunday, he shows up! He gives his life to Christ and, after service, we bring him to the swimming pool and we get him water baptised. Today, he is loving God, connected to family and he is even serving in the house of God. 

If we love God, we love people in a language that they receive.

When we love people in a way that they receive love, it isn’t just given but it is also received. 

Get this: Love God and then love people in order to love the next generation. We need love that comes from God. The more we fall in love with God, the more he fills us with a love for people.

Have you ever felt like you struggled to love the next generation? There was a time in my life, as a young dad, I felt like I struggled to show love for my beautiful daughters. And I’m talking about love and hugs and kisses. 

I went to God and I asked Him: “Lord, what is up with me? Why don’t I have this love for my children?” God showed me and reminded me how much he loves me as a son, and how proud of me He is that I am a father today. 

Today, I come before my children. I hug them, I kiss them, I pray with them before I go to bed. The love that I show my children today was not from the people around me. It came from the God that dwells inside me. 

When you love God with unrestrained love, He will fill you with unrestrained love for people.

Love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your mind and all your soul and He will give you love for people, as yourself. Love God, love people. Let us pray: 

Father God, we thank You for Your love. We thank You that You are a God of love, that Your commandment is that we love You and love Your people.

Father, we pray right now for this beautiful nation and this beautiful city that, God, we would be known as a nation that loves. 

Father, as You fill us with Your love, may we see an entire generation of our youth come to know You and come to love You. Father, we honour You, we love You and we bless Your name. 

In Jesus’ name, we pray, and all God’s people say: Amen.


Download the PDF version of today’s devotional here.

/ Reflect
  • How well do you currently love the people around you?
  • What is God saying to you about your love for Him?
  • What is one way God is challenging you to love people with His love?
/ Pray
  • Pray for a deeper love of God because unless we love God, we cannot love His people. Ask God to reveal and remove any obstacle – a bias, an inclination, a past encounter – that prevents you from being wholly devoted to Him.
  • Prayerfully reflect on Matthew 22:37: “You shall love your neighbour as yourself.” Who are your neighbours? Pray for insights into their concerns, that you might show love to them in meaningful ways.
  • Pray over your role in your family – as mother or father, daughter or son, sister or brother, daughter- or son-in-law, mother- or father-in-law, godparent or foster parent. The God of no mistakes has placed you in your family for a reason. Pray for your family members by putting yourself in their shoes. Take a step to be a blessing to them today.

《祂大能之日》华语祷告聚集 • 8月9日 • 不见不散!
+
Aa
2023
Day 11 / 11.07.23 / Pastor Andrew Leong, Lead Pastor, Kingdomcity Singapore

第十一天:这就是最大的诫命

马太福音 22:37-39 “耶稣回答说:“‘你要全心、全情、全意爱主—你的上帝’,这是第一条也是最重要的诫命。 第二条也相似,就是‘要爱邻如己’。 律法和先知的全部教导都以这两条诫命为基础。””

最大的诫命是哪一条呢?在马太福音 22:37,耶稣说:“你要尽心、尽性、尽意爱主—你的神。这是最大的,且是第一条诫命。第二条也如此,就是要爱邻如己。这两条诫命是一切律法和先知书的总纲。”

爱神,爱人。

如果我们爱神,我们也必须爱人。贴近下一世代需要爱。贴近年轻人需要表达出来的爱。爱是需要展现出来的。

如果我们爱神,我们会以人们接受的那种爱的语言来爱他们。爱人并非单单以我们自己理解的方式来爱人, 而是以他们能够接受的方式来爱。没有加添规则、纠正或严厉的爱;而是以肯定、鼓励、启发、有归属感和激励的方式来爱。

几个月前,我在小贩中心遇见了一个人。我们聊了起来,他带着个很酷的包包,手臂上还有魔鬼鱼的刺青。交谈中我发现他已经很久没有上教会了。

我说我是教会里的牧师,欢迎你到我教会来。我给了他我的电话号码,接下来几天就互相传简讯。忽然他发了个简讯问我,“我想要洗礼,我该怎么做呢?”

我告诉他:“如果你是认真的话,那么这个星期天到教会来吧!聚会之后我们给你洗礼。”

猜猜发生了什么?星期天他来了!他把生命交托给基督,聚会之后我们把他带到游泳池,就给他洗礼了。如今的他不仅仅爱神、与家人连结,而且还在神的家中服事。

当我们以别人接受的方式来爱人,那么这爱不单单是付出了,也被他们接受。

要知道:爱神,然后爱人,才能爱下一世代。我们需要从神而来的爱。 我们越深深爱神,祂会将爱充满我们,让我们有能力去爱人。

你是否曾经觉得自己对于爱下一世代这方面,有所挣扎?当我是一个新手爸爸的时候,我对于如何向我那可爱的女儿表达爱,是有点手足无措的。我说的是爱她、抱她、亲亲她。

于是我去问上帝,“主啊!我怎么了?难道我对孩子缺乏爱了吗?”那时候主让我看见并提醒我祂有多爱我。祂爱我这个儿子,对于我成为父亲这件事也感到骄傲。

如今我来到孩子面前,我抱他们、亲他们、睡前和他们一起祷告。现在我对我孩子们展现的爱,不是从身边的人得到的, 而是来自我里面的神。

当你对神毫无保留的爱,也让我们充满毫无保留的爱来爱人。

你要尽心、尽性、尽意爱主你的神,祂就会让你拥有爱人如己的大爱。爱神,爱人。让我们一起祷告:

天父,我们感谢你的爱。我们感谢你就是爱,你的诫命叫我们爱神也爱人。

父啊,我们为这个美丽的国家和城市来祷告,我们会因为爱人而闻名于世。

父啊,求你以爱来充满我们,我们要看见整个世代的年轻人来认识你、爱你。父啊,我们尊崇你,我们爱你、我们称颂你的名。

奉耶稣基督的名,大家一起说。阿门!


这里下载今日灵修的PDF版本。

/ 反思
  • 你有多爱你身边的人你?
  • 关于你对神的爱,神是怎么对你说的呢?
  • 神怎么挑战你以祂的爱来爱人?提出一个方式。
/ 祷告
  • 祷告对神有更深的爱,因为若我们不爱神,我们就无法爱人。求神启示并挪走任何的障碍——偏见、偏爱、 曾经的经历——阻挡你全心献上给主。
  • 带着祷告的心思考马太福音22:37:“你要爱邻如己”。那么谁是你的邻舍呢?祷告对他们所关心的事有洞察力,让你对他们以有意义的方式来展现爱。
  • 祷告你在家庭中的角色— 作为母亲或父亲、女儿或儿子、姐妹或兄弟、媳妇或女婿、岳母或岳父、家翁或家婆、干爹干妈或养父母。不犯错的神讲你放在这个家庭中是有原因的。为你的家庭成员祷告,也站在他们的立场。今天就踏出祝福他们的第一步。