8/8: Join Day of His Power at 7 regional centres across Singapore.
+
Aa
Day 13 / 13.07.23 / 郑福财牧师(博士), 主任牧师,更新基督教会 Rev Dr Chern Hock Chye, Senior Pastor, Renewal Christian Church

Day 13: Reaping starts with sowing

GALATIANS 6:9 Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.

Paul said: “For when I preach the gospel, I cannot boast, since I am compelled to preach. Woe to me if I do not preach the gospel!” (1 Corinthians 9:16)

And then he says: “I do all this for the sake of the gospel, that I may share in its blessings.” (1 Corinthians 9:23)

Even after his resurrection, Jesus told His disciples: “Therefore go and make disciples of all nations, baptising them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, and teaching them to obey everything I have commanded you. And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” (Matthew 28:19-20)

It is very clear that the most important task for the Church and every Christian is to share the Gospel.  God’s heart is for all to be saved. Therefore, sharing the Gospel is the main task, not a side hustle. It is also not just one of the many things a church needs to do. 

If I were to put it bluntly: Evangelism should be of utmost importance and priority.

Christ would want His Church and His disciples to carry out the Great Commission. Dear brothers and sisters, are you eagerly sharing the Gospel? If you attend service regularly and punctually, tithe faithfully, or even serve in your church, all the more I would like to remind you to remember to share the Gospel too. This is the command of God! 

According to the Singapore Census of Population 2020, at least two million Singaporeans and permanent residents are able to understand and speak Mandarin. Right now, only two in 10 Chinese in Singapore are Christian or Catholic. We have such a huge harvest field! This harvest field does not even include foreigners in the Chinese-speaking community.

Evangelism should be of utmost importance and priority.

The Celebration of Hope evangelistic event organised in 2019 truly proves the size of this field. Tickets for the Chinese session were snatched up fastest, and it saw the largest attendance too. Some pastors from the English congregation saw this window of opportunity and eagerly provided manpower and financial resources to the Chinese team. Indeed, it was a fruitful session.

Before Covid, our church used “Happiness Groups” as a strategy to share the Gospel, and we saw many pre-believers joining us. The worship atmosphere of the church was different then as well. When Covid hit, we were determined to persevere in evangelism, and so we decided to focus our resources to pivot and conduct Happiness Groups online instead. Honestly, it was challenging to express love and care, as well as touch hearts online. 

But God longs for His disciples to learn to love Him and His people under all circumstances, even during the pandemic. Eventually we saw more people coming to know Christ during these three years, as compared to pre-Covid times.

The field of the Chinese-speaking community in Singapore is ripe, and it is time for the harvest! Let us not miss out on a time like this.

I also believe that when it comes to evangelism, nothing would happen if you don’t do anything. Even if you start small, God will pave the way for you, because there will always be people who will come to believe in Jesus! Regardless of the evangelism strategy of your church, you just have to start and you will see the fruits of your labour.

Let us not miss out on a time like this.

Galatians 6:9 reminds us, “Let us not become weary in doing good, for at the proper time we will reap a harvest if we do not give up.” 

We might face all sorts of challenges during evangelism. But those who don’t give up in sowing with tears, will reap with songs of joy. Let us pray:

Dear Lord, we thank You for loving the churches in Singapore. God help us to eagerly share the Gospel with those who have yet to believe in Jesus Christ, so that all Your lost sheep may return Home. Lord, help us and lead us. 

All this I pray in Jesus’ name, Amen.


Download the PDF version of today’s devotional here.

/ Reflect
  • How will you start small today to engage with the harvest field at your doorstep – the Chinese-speaking community?
  • What hinders you from sharing the Gospel? Is it inertia, fear of rejection, worldly distractions, or something else? What is one change you can make to overcome this obstacle between you and your witness?
  • “And surely I am with you always, to the very end of the age.” (Matthew 29:20) In what ways have you seen God’s Presence in your life? How does this encourage you to share Christ with others?

 

/ Pray
  • Pray for the Holy Spirit to stir up the Church to remember the urgency of evangelism. Ask God to inspire the leadership with the right strategies and resources to reach those who have yet to know the Lord.
  • Pray for churches to unite in the vision to reach the Mandarin-speaking harvest field that is ripe for harvest. Ask God to guide collaborations and bring about a sharing of resources that will step up evangelism to this demographic. Seek unity in Spirit among the churches.

《祂大能之日》华语祷告聚集 • 8月9日 • 不见不散!
+
Aa
2023
Day 13 / 13.07.23 / 郑福财牧师(博士), 主任牧师,更新基督教会 Rev Dr Chern Hock Chye, Senior Pastor, Renewal Christian Church

第十三天:积极向讲华语的群体传福音

加拉太书 6:9 我们行善不可灰心气馁,因为到时候必有收获。

保罗在哥林多前书9:16:「我传福音原没有可夸的,因为我是不得已的。若不传福音,我便有祸了。」

之后在同一章的9:23 节更说:「凡我所行的,都是为福音的缘故,为要与人同得这福音的好处。」

哥林多前书9:23:「凡我所行的,都是为福音的缘故,为要与人同得这福音的好处。」

耶稣自己也在复活之后,嘱咐门徒说:「你们要去,使万民作我的门徒,奉父、子、圣灵的名给他们施洗。凡我所吩咐你们的,都教训他们遵守,我就常与你们同在,直到世界的末了。」(马太福音28:19-20)

 所以非常清楚,教会和每一位基督徒在世上最重要的事,就是传福音。神的心意就是要万人得救。所以传福音是正业,不是教会的副业,也不是教会的其中一个事工而已。讲得更直接,布道应该是教会的火车头事工,是最重要的事!

而基督要教会做什么,门徒做的也要跟这个使命有关!亲爱的弟兄姐妹,你有积极地去传福音吗?若你一直都是准时出席崇拜,固定金钱奉献,甚至参与教会事奉,我更要提醒你不要忽略了传福音。因为这是神的命令!

根据2020年的全国人口普查,新加坡人和永久居民能够听和讲华语的至少还有200多万。目前华人大概10个中有两位是基督徒或天主教徒。所以我们还有很大的禾场!这个禾场还不包括海外来的讲华语群体。

其实在2019年举办的「希望与你有约」(Celebration Of Hope) 布道会也证明了这点。那年华文布道会是最快爆满的一场。实际出席人数也是最多的。一些英文教会牧者也看见这方面的契机,就积极投钱和人力在华文部,也看见美好果效。

在疫情之前,我们教会采用了幸福小组的福音策略,结果看见许多非信徒的来到,教会的崇拜气氛也变得不一样。当疫情来到时,我们坚信不可以放弃传福音,就决定集中火力,转而做线上的幸福小组。其实要在线上表达爱与关怀,打动人心,是很困难的。但神就是要基督徒在任何时候学习真正爱神爱人。即使是在疫情期间。结果我们看见在疫情这三年信主人数比之前还多。

所以在新加坡的讲华语群体,庄稼已经熟了,现在就是收成的时刻!让我们不要错过这个好时机。

我也很相信,在传福音这件事,你什么都不做,就什么都不会发生。但你即使只能做一点点,上帝都会有美好的预备给你。因为总会有人信耶稣!所以不管你教会的福音策略是什么,你只要专心去做,就会看见果效。

加拉太书6:9提醒我们:「行善不可丧志,若不灰心,到了时候就要收成!」传福音虽然会面临各种挑战,但那流泪、坚忍不放弃撒种的人必欢呼收割。新加坡的众教会,我们一起加油。

让我们祷告:

亲爱的主,我们感谢你爱新加坡的众教会。神帮助我们迫切地把福音传给那些还没有相信耶稣基督的人,好让你所有迷失的羊都能够回家。主啊,帮助我们,带领我们。

 所有这些奉耶稣的名祷告,阿门。


这里下载今日灵修的PDF版本。

/ 反思
  • 今天,你将如何从小事做起,从家门口开始,参与禾场的工作 – 讲华语的群体?
  • 是什么阻碍你去分享福音?是惰性,害怕被拒绝,世俗的干扰,还是其他的事情?你能做帮助自己克服这个阻碍的一个改变是什么?
  • “记住,我必常与你们同在,一直到世界的末了。”(马太福音29:20)你怎样看到神的同在在你的生命里?这如何鼓励你和别人分享基督呢?
/ 祷告
  • 祷告圣灵感动教会,使教会记住传福音的迫切性。祈求神赐教会领袖正确的策略和资源,帮助那些还没有认识主的人。
  • 祷告教会能在异象里合一,向讲华语的成熟禾场传福音。祈求神指引相关的合作,带来资源共享,以便加快向这个群体传福音的步伐。祈求众教会灵里的合一。