8/8: Join Day of His Power at 7 regional centres across Singapore.
+
Aa
Day 33 / 02.08.23 / REV. NG ZHI-WEN, PASTOR, ZION BISHAN BP CHURCH

Day 33: He offers refuge

Psalm 2

Dear brothers- and sisters-in-Christ, would you take a moment to meditate on the solemn words in Psalm 2?

“Therefore, you kings, be wise. Be warned you rulers of the earth. Serve the Lord with fear and celebrate his rule with trembling. Kiss His Son, or he will be angry and your way will lead to your destruction for his wrath can flare up in a moment. Blessed are all who take refuge in Him.” (Psalm 2:10-12)

Blessed are all who take refuge in Him, in the Son of God. Given what Psalm 2 has been talking about, this last statement is an offer of refuge in the midst of warfare and rebellion. 

The nations of the world, the kings and the peoples are in this united unholy rebellion against God. They resist His rightful reign over all the earth, they reject the one whom God has anointed as King. 

We still live in an age where kings get anointed, crowned and enthroned. But long before our time, God has anointed His King, the Son. His rule is irresistible, His reign stretches to the ends of the earth. Every nation is His inheritance, everything rightly belongs to King Jesus. 

When He first came 2,000 years ago, He proved Himself to be King by His life, His death, His resurrection and His ascension to the right hand of God. And one day soon, and very soon, this King Jesus will return. 

When He comes, He is going to deal with all the rebels, every nation and every person will be judged by Him. Everyone will face Him in one of two ways: Either Jesus as judge in His anger, or Jesus as our refuge, our Saviour. 

I wish to God that nobody faces King Jesus in His anger. And you know what? Neither does Jesus. 

Today, He offers refuge. Today is the day for offering peace and reconciliation. Today is the day for salvation. And the call to everyone is to lay down your arms. Call an end to the foolish and futile resistance. Remove those silly self-made crowns and find refuge from the righteous wrath of God. Run to safety in the arms of Jesus. Serve the King, celebrate His rule with trembling, and kiss His son. Grim words. 

You might be thinking: This isn’t a great way to attract people to Jesus. Probably so. But think about this: As the Church, this is a matter of great urgency for all of us. There is so much at stake. 

Dear Church, we have this message of refuge for a world that is in rebellion against the Kingdom of God. If we are to bless the nations, then we must tell the world that Jesus is Lord and that He is coming soon to right all wrongs. 

But we must also declare that Jesus is our Saviour. He offers peace with God by His blood. He offers peace to the whole world by His blood. He offers the one and only refuge, and He does this for our blessing. 

Blessed are all who take refuge in Him. The world needs to know. Let us pray:

Father, indeed may the world know that there is a refuge in Christ. And may we be faithful to tell the world of this blessing. Amen.


Download the PDF version of today’s devotional here.

/ Reflect
  • Reading Psalm 2, what does it look like to take refuge in King Jesus? 
  • Have you been living in a way that reflects taking refuge in Jesus? 
  • How is God calling you to bring His refuge to the lost?
/ Pray
  • Pray for conviction to count our “silly self-made crowns” foolishness in the face of God’s peace and refuge. Pray for God to help us “lay down our rebellion” and instead seek His wisdom and long for His righteousness, acknowledging that earthly power is transient compared to His eternal reign. 
  • Ask for His grace to share the message of salvation boldly, proclaiming Jesus as both refuge and judge. Pray for opportunities to witness, for the right words to convict, and for receptive hearts to hear the Gospel.
  • Pray for a sense of urgency among believers to share the hope that is Jesus Christ. Ask God to grant wisdom, discernment and inspiration to the Church to find means to faithfully declare to the ends of the earth Christ’s coming and His offer of eternal life.

《祂大能之日》华语祷告聚集 • 8月9日 • 不见不散!
+
Aa
2023
Day 33 / 02.08.23 / REV. NG ZHI-WEN, PASTOR, ZION BISHAN BP CHURCH

第三十三天:把神的避难所带去世界

诗篇 2

亲爱的主内弟兄姊妹,你愿意花点时间默想一下诗篇第2篇里庄严的话吗?

我想把你们的注意力带到最后的3节:“现在,君王啊,要谨慎。世上的审判官啊!你们应当听劝告。你们要以敬畏的态度事奉耶和华,又应当战兢的心而欢呼。你们要用嘴亲吻子,否则他一发怒,你们就在路上灭亡,因为他的怒气快要发作。凡是投靠祂的,都是有福的

凡是投靠祂的,都是有福的。结合诗篇第2篇里的上下文,最后一句话讲的是在争战和悖逆中的提供的避难所。

世上的列国,众君王,众子民,联合起来悖逆神。他们抗拒祂在全地正当地掌权做王。他们弃绝了神膏立的王。

我们仍活在君王受膏,加冕和登基的时代。但是,远在我们时代之前,神就恩膏祂的王,祂的儿子。祂的王权是不可抗拒的,祂的统治延伸到地极。列国都是祂的产业,万物都属君王耶稣。

2000多年祂来到世上的时候,祂通过祂的生、死、复活和升天,并坐在神的右手边,证明了自己是王。很快将会有一天,这位君王耶稣会回来。当祂回来,祂就会审判所有的悖逆者。各个国家,每个人都会受祂审判。我们每个人都会以这两种方式中的一种面对祂。要么是面对愤怒的审判者耶稣;要么面对我们的救主,我们的避难所耶稣。

我向神祈求,没有人会面对愤怒的君王耶稣。你知道吗?耶稣也不希望这样。

今天,祂提供避难所。今天祂提供平安与和解。今天是得救的日子。祂呼唤我们每个人放下武器,结束愚蠢和徒劳的抵抗,摘下那些愚蠢的自制冠冕,然后躲避神的义怒,跑去耶稣的怀里找平安,服事这位君王。带着喜乐和战兢,用嘴亲吻祂的子。这是很严厉的话。

你可能在想,这可不是吸引人到耶稣的好办法。可能吧。但是想想看:身为神的教会,这对我们所有人来说都是紧迫的事。事关重大。 

亲爱的教会,我们对悖逆神的世界有这样一个避难所的信息。如果我们要祝福万国,那么我们就要向世界宣告耶稣是主,宣告祂很快就会再来,纠正所有的错。

但我们也必须要宣告,耶稣是我们的救主。祂透过自己的宝血,给我们与神和好的机会。祂透过自己的血,为世界提供与神和解。祂提供的是唯一的避难所。祂这么做是为了祝福我们。 

凡是投靠祂的,都是有福的。这是这个世界需要知道的。

天父,确实,让这个世界知道在基督里有避难所。愿我们忠心地把这个祝福告诉世界。阿门。


这里下载今日灵修的PDF版本。

/ 反思
  • 阅读诗篇第2篇,把君王耶稣当成避难所的情景是怎样的呢?
  • 你的生活反映出你把耶稣当成避难所吗?
  • 神正在怎样呼召你,把祂的避难所带给失丧的人?
/ 祷告
  • 祈求神使我们确信,在神的平安和避难所面前,我们“自制的冠冕”是愚蠢的。祈求神帮助我们“放下悖逆”,转而寻求祂的智慧,渴望祂的公义,承认与祂永恒的统治相比,地上的权力是短暂的。
  • 祈求祂的恩典,放胆分享救恩的信息,传扬耶稣既是避难所,也是审判者。祈求有机会作见证,有正确的话语使人确信,也祈求有领受的心听福音。
  • 祈求信徒有迫切的心去分享在耶稣基督里的盼望。祈求神赐予智慧,洞察力,和灵感给教会,好让教会找到方法,忠心地宣告基督的再来,以及祂所赐的永生,直到地极。