8/8: Join Day of His Power at 7 regional centres across Singapore.
+
Aa
Day 26 / 26.07.23 / Pastor Ian Wong, Youth Connection, Kum Yan Methodist Church

Day 26: Listen to our youth

Proverbs 18:2 “Fools find no pleasure in understanding but delight in airing their own opinions.”Proverbs 18:13 “To answer before listening — that is folly and shame.”

In conversations with youth, it is not uncommon for older people to quickly, sometimes within two minutes of the conversation, offer their opinions, solutions and even correction. 
Good intentioned though it may be, it often limits our conversation to trading information, and we miss out on a chance for our lives to really impact one another. 

Proverbs 18:13 tells us: “Answer before listening – that is folly and shame.” 

I’ve realised over the years just how poor my listening was, and how much harder listening is than we may think. 

To win our youth, we must first listen to them. So here are three things that help with our listening, particularly to the youth.

1. Be a “safe” person to talk to. What that means is that the person is safe from our unsolicited lectures, general assumptions of their generation and pre-judgments of their motives or immaturity. Do we believe they can and will grow? Or are we only looking to confirm our suspicions about them? Being a safe person means we first receive them for who they are and, without judgment, give them the space to share.

2. Don’t make the conversation about ourselves. Do we hijack the conversation by sharing our stories? Or by telling them what we’ve learnt? What is much more effective is to give them the gift of our attention and care, and to encourage them to share even more. This opens the pathway to a deeper conversation and connection. 

Tell me more about that …” or “What I heard was this … is that accurate?” Asking such questions communicates that we are really listening to them, and the details of their experience are important to us. It tells them that we appreciate the incredible privilege of knowing them better.

Proverbs tell us that point-blank. In Proverbs 18:2: “Fools have no interest in understanding; they only want to air their own opinions.

If we can resist the tendency to share what we know, we can then steward the gift they are giving to us, which is the sharing of their hearts. 

Jesus said: “For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.” When we know more about where their hearts are at, we can hopefully have access to what they truly value.

3. Know why we need to listen well. Which is that listening to someone may eventually open the door for us to point them to God.

As a youth pastor, I often receive calls from youths needing to “tell me something”. This has ranged from miraculously surviving car accidents, to the effects of various substances, to dramatic break-ups, to bad decisions and sexual behaviour leading to years of deep regret.

I’ve learnt that being a safe person to speak to, and learning how to listen on a person’s worst day, may eventually help me to turn the person’s attention to how God sees their situation. 

They know then that it’s not about how I see them, but about how God sees them. 

For those of us who are not so young, it is true that youth are prone to think they know more than they actually do. They also hate to be told this. There are times we may have to use a heavier approach to warn them of danger and also to mark clear biblical boundaries. 

But our goal is clear, we are to “encourage one another and build one another up” (1 Thessalonians 5:11) and, in humility, to hear their heart and then point them to what they really need – a God who is Holy, but also compassionate and gracious, slow to anger and abounding in love and faithfulness.

And to the youths: We can really learn so much if we also humble ourselves to learn, and sometimes to listen to, not just the words, but more importantly the heart of the older ones. We can do our part to help bridge the gap. Let us pray:

Dear Heavenly Father, may you help us to be quick to listen and slow to speak, that we would, in every generation, learn how to win the hearts of the younger generation before we can win their souls. 

May we be given the privilege to point the next generation to their Heavenly Father. Help us as we pray in your mighty name Jesus, Amen.


Download the PDF version of today’s devotional here.

/ Reflect
  • Have you been prone to carry judgements and generalisations about youths?
  • Which of these three handles do you think you struggle the most with?
  • How can you start practising these three handles in your daily life, especially with the youth in your life?
/ Pray
  • Pray for the conviction to journey with and make disciples of the next generation, who are our hope for the renewal of the Church. Ask the Lord for wisdom to relate to a generation that is curious, globally exposed, “has access to cogent arguments for and against every position and will not blindly follow the assured positions of the church”. Pray for God to help us accept that “when the young challenge us, it shouldn’t be automatically interpreted as rebellion: They may want to buy in but they want to know why”. (Rev Dr Tan Soo-Inn, Graceworks)
  • Pray for the grace to be a “safe” person for the youth to talk to, one who listens well and refrains from judgement and unsolicited lectures. Ask for guidance in nurturing a space where the youth can express themselves honestly and where they can process the many questions they face every day.
  • Pray to be an example and role model to youths on how they can live out their faith in practical and real ways.

《祂大能之日》华语祷告聚集 • 8月9日 • 不见不散!
+
Aa
2023
Day 26 / 26.07.23 / Pastor Ian Wong, Youth Connection, Kum Yan Methodist Church

第二十六天:倾听我们的年轻人

箴言 18:2 “愚人不喜欢悟性,只喜欢发表意见。”箴言 18:13 “未听先答的人,自显愚昧和羞辱。”

在与年轻人的谈话中,年长人士有时会在谈话后迅速、有时在两分钟内就提出自己的意见、解决方案甚至纠正对方的看法,这种情况并不少见。

尽管这可能是出于好意,但它常常将我们的谈话限制在交换信息上,我们错过了一个让我们的生活真正影响彼此的机会。

箴言 18:13 告诉我们:“未曾听完先回答的,便是他的愚昧和羞辱。

这些年来,我意识到我的倾听能力实在糟糕,而且倾听比我们想象的要难得多。

要赢得我们的年轻人,我们必须首先听取他们的意见。因此,这里有三件事可以帮助我们倾听,尤其是对年轻人而言。

1. 做一个“安全”的交谈对象。这意味着这个人不会受到我们不请自来的说教、对他们这一代人的一般假设以及对他们动机或不成熟的预判。 我们相信他们能够并且将会成长吗?或者我们只是想证实我们对他们的怀疑?做一个安全的人意味着我们首先接受他们本来的样子,并且不加论断地给他们分享的空间。

2. 不要让对话成为谈论我们自己的场合。我们是否通过分享我们的故事来劫持对话?或者告诉他们我们学到了什么? 更有效的方法是给予他们我们的关注和关怀,并鼓励他们分享更多。这为更深入的对话和联系打开通道。

告诉我更多关于那个……” 或 “我听到的是这个……准确吗?” 提出这样的问题表明我们真的在倾听他们的声音、他们的经历细节对我们很重要。这告诉他们,我们很感恩能更好地了解他们。

箴言直截了当地告诉我们。在箴言 18:2 中:“愚昧人不喜爱明哲,只喜爱显露心意。

如果我们能够节制分享我们所知道的事物的倾向,那么我们就可以处理他们给我们的礼物,那就是分享他们的心。

耶稣说:“因为你的财宝在哪里,你的心也在那里。”当我们更多地了解他们的内心时,我们就有希望获得他们真正重视的东西。

3. 知道为什么我们需要好好倾听。也就是说,倾听某人可能最终会为我们打开大门,将他们指向上帝。

作为一名年轻人的牧师,我经常接到他们的电话,需要“告诉我一些事情”。这包括奇迹般地从车祸中幸存下来、到各种物质世界的影响、到戏剧性的分手、再到因为错误决定和性行为而导致的长期痛悔。

我了解到,作为一个可以与人交谈的“安全人”,并学习如何在一个人最糟的日子里倾听,最终,可能帮助我将这个人的注意力转移到上帝如何看待他们的处境上。

他们那时就知道这不是关于我如何看待他们,而是关于上帝如何看待他们。

对于我们这些不那么年轻的人来说,年轻人确实倾向于认为他们知道的比实际知道的多。他们也不喜欢别人告诉他们这一点。有时我们可能不得不使用更严厉的方法来警告他们,并对圣经的教导画出明确的界限。

但我们的目标很明确,我们要“彼此劝慰,互相建立”(帖撒罗尼迦前书 5:11),并且谦卑地倾听他们的心声,然后指出他们真正需要的—一位圣洁的上帝 ,但也是怜悯有恩典的神,不轻易发怒,并有丰盛的慈爱和诚实。

对年轻人来说:如果我们也谦卑地学习,有时不只是倾听说出来的话,更重要的是倾听年长者的心,我们真的可以学到很多东西。 我们可以尽自己的一份力量来帮助弥合差距。让我们祷告:

亲爱的天父,愿你帮助我们快快的听、慢慢的说,让我们在每一代人中间,先学会如何赢得年轻一代的心,然后才能赢得他们的灵魂。

愿我们有荣幸能带领下一代到他们的天父面前。当我们奉主耶稣大能的名祷告时,请帮助我们,阿门。


这里下载今日灵修的PDF版本。

/ 反思
  • 你是否轻易地对年轻人进行论断和一刀切?
  • 你认为上述三点论述中的哪一点最难处理?
  • 你在日常生活中如何开始操练这三点,尤其是对待你生命中的年轻人?
/ 祷告
  • 求主给我们与下一代同行并使他们成为门徒的信念,他们是我们教会更新的希望。求主赐给我们智慧,能够与充满好奇心、跟全球接轨、“能够按照令人信服的论据支持和反对每种立场、并且不会盲目追随教会既定立场”的一代人相处。祈求上帝帮助我们接受这一点:“当年轻人挑战我们时,不该自动将这些解释为叛逆:他们可能想接受,但他们想知道为什么”。 (Tan Soo-Inn 牧师博士,Graceworks)
  • 祈求上帝的恩典让我们成为一个“安全”的人,可以与年轻人交谈,善于倾听,不做出判断和不请自来的说教。寻求上帝的带领,让我们培育一个让年轻人能够诚实表达自己、处理他们每天所面临的许多问题的空间。
  • 祷告成为年轻人的榜样和楷模,告诉他们如何以实际和真实的方式实践他们的信仰。