8/8: Join Day of His Power at 7 regional centres across Singapore.
+
Aa
Day 24 / 24.07.23 / REV SHARON FONG, DIRECTOR, THE NEXT GENERATION, COVENANT EFC

Day 24: Not just hearers but doers also

Genesis 3:1-7 “Now the serpent was more crafty than any of the wild animals the Lord God had made. He said to the woman, “Did God really say, ‘You must not eat from any tree in the garden’?”The woman said to the serpent, “We may eat fruit from the trees in the garden, but God did say, ‘You must not eat fruit from the tree that is in the middle of the garden, and you must not touch it, or you will die.’”“You will not certainly die,” the serpent said to the woman. “For God knows that when you eat from it your eyes will be opened, and you will be like God, knowing good and evil.”When the woman saw that the fruit of the tree was good for food and pleasing to the eye, and also desirable for gaining wisdom, she took some and ate it. She also gave some to her husband, who was with her, and he ate it. Then the eyes of both of them were opened, and they realised they were naked; so they sewed fig leaves together and made coverings for themselves.”

Genesis 3:1-7 has so much impact on humanity. The author intentionally repeated some keywords that readers should not miss. The two words “God said” are repeated throughout the chapter.

The author repeated this eight times in one chapter. We see how our God is a speaking God. 

In Genesis 2, God speaks specific words of instruction to Adam and Eve, telling them that they may eat of every tree in the garden except the tree of knowledge of good and evil for they shall surely die if they do so.

With an overarching theme of a speaking God, we should not be surprised to find a speaking serpent too. A speaking God versus a speaking serpent – can you see the tension in this narrative?

The tension between a speaking God versus a speaking serpent did not just start and end in Genesis 3. The saga has continued throughout centuries and generations.

The speaking serpent shoots the first question to Eve: “Did God actually say you shall not eat of any tree in the garden?” The speaking serpent’s question sounds quite innocent. However, the crafty serpent is subtly challenging Eve on how well she remembers and honours God’s exact words of instruction.

But Eve does not fully remember God’s exact words of instruction and, worse, she adds additional comments to God’s spoken instruction by saying “neither shall you touch it”. The truth is that God did not tell them that they shall never touch that tree.

Eve’s inability to remember and honour God’s exact words of instruction opens the door for the serpent to further trap and tempt her. Eve’s failure to trust and obey God begins with an inability to fully remember, honour and obey God’s words of instruction.

To trust and obey God, one cannot run away from the Word of God. The world and the evil one will persist in speaking louder than ever before through various platforms.

We want to win and disciple our youths in Singapore for Christ. We pray for them to know God deeply through the Holy Scriptures, and be excited and gripped by the Word of God so that they may trust and obey God wholeheartedly. Today, let’s pray for our youths to hear God’s voice through his Word and obey Him with no if’s or but’s.

Our God is a speaking God.

To our young people: May you run to God, lean on His Word, and drink deep from the fountain of living waters. May you be known as a generation who are both hearers and doers of God’s word. Trust and obey God. Let us pray: 

Father, may You empower us to be both hearers and doers of Your Word. May You help us to read Your Word regularly and know Your Word deeply. 

In Jesus’ name, we pray, Amen.


Download the PDF version of today’s devotional here.

/ Reflect
  • Why does knowing God’s Word well matter to us as His followers?
  • How can you create a rhythm to read and live out God’s Word regularly?
  • What is one way you can begin discipling the youth/s you know to be hearers and doers of God’s Word?
  • Meditate on 2 Timothy 3:16-17: “All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction, and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be complete, equipped for every good work.” How does Scripture “complete” you?
/ Pray
  • Pray for God to help you understand the Word, remember it accurately and apply it to your life and ministry. Pray for a generation that trusts and obeys the Lord, that we might be both hearers and doers of His Word.
  • Pray against distractions and deceptions as you study the Word, and for you to recognise the Shepherd’s voice amidst the loud competing voices in the world.
  • Pray over Scripture verses as you meditate on them.In the Christian life, prayer and the Word are connected in such a way that if you disconnect them, both die. Let me sum up the connection between prayer and the Word in three ways: The Word of God inspires prayer, it informs prayer and it incarnates prayer.” (John Piper, Desiring God)

《祂大能之日》华语祷告聚集 • 8月9日 • 不见不散!
+
Aa
2023
Day 24 / 24.07.23 / REV SHARON FONG, DIRECTOR, THE NEXT GENERATION, COVENANT EFC

第二十四天:听道和行道的人

创世纪 3:1-7 “在耶和华上帝所造的田野的各种动物中,蛇最狡猾。蛇对女人说:“上帝真的说过不许你们吃园中所有树上的果子吗?” 女人回答说:“我们可以吃园中树上的果子,只是不可以吃园子中间那棵树的果子。上帝曾经吩咐说,‘你们不可吃那果子,也不可摸,否则你们就会死。’” 蛇对女人说:“你们一定不会死!上帝那样说是因为祂知道你们吃了那树的果子以后,眼睛就会明亮,像上帝一样懂得分辨善恶。” 女人见那棵树上的果子可口,赏心悦目,可以使人有智慧,就摘下来吃了。她也把果子给跟她在一起的丈夫,他也吃了。二人的眼睛果然明亮起来,这才发觉自己原来赤身露体,便把无花果树的叶子编起来遮体。”

创世记 3:1-7 对人类有非常大的影响力。作者有意重复了读者不应错过的某些关键词。“上帝说”这三个字贯穿整章。

作者在第一章中重复了八次。我们看到我们的神是一位说话的神。

在创世记二章,神对亚当和夏娃说了具体的教导的话,说他们可以吃园中各样树上的果子,除了分别善恶树上的果子,因为他们这样做必定死。

有了会说话的上帝这一整体主题,我们应该不会对会说话的蛇感到惊讶。会说话的上帝与会说话的蛇——你能看出这个故事中的张力吗?

会说话的上帝与会说话的蛇之间的张力不只在创世记第 3 章开始和结束。这个传奇故事一直延续了几个世纪和几代人。

会说话的蛇向夏娃发出第一个问题:“神岂是真说不许你们吃园中所有树上的果子吗?” 会说话的蛇的问题,听起来相当天真无邪。然而,狡猾的蛇是在巧妙地挑战夏娃,看她是否记得并尊重上帝精确的指示。

但夏娃并没有完全记住上帝的精确指示,更糟糕的是,她对上帝的口头指示添加了额外的评论,说“你也不可触摸它”。事实上,上帝并没有告诉他们永远不能碰那棵树。

夏娃无法记住和尊重上帝的精确指示,这为蛇进一步诱捕和引诱她打开了大门。夏娃不信靠也和不服从上帝,开始于无法完全记住、尊重和服从上帝的指示。

要信靠和顺服神,就不能逃避神的话。世界和恶者将通过各种平台,不断地用比过去任何时候都响亮的声音说话。

我们要为基督赢得新加坡的年轻人并培育他们。我们为他们祷告,让他们通过圣经深入地认识神,被神的话语感动和吸引,使他们能够全心全意地信靠和顺服神。今天,让我们为我们的年轻人祷告,让他们通过上帝的话语听到祂的声音,并毫无疑问地顺服祂。

致我们的年轻人:愿你奔向上帝,倚靠祂的话语,畅饮活水的泉源。 愿你们成为既听道又行道的一代人。相信并顺服上帝。


这里下载今日灵修的PDF版本。

/ 反思
  • 为什么熟悉神的话语对我们这些跟随祂的人很重要?
  • 你如何创造定期阅读的节奏和活出神的话语?
  • 你可以采用什么方法,来开始培训那些你所认识的年轻人成为神话语的听道者和行道者?
/ 祷告
  • 祈求神帮助你理解神的话语,准确地记住它,并将其应用到你的生活和事奉中。为信靠并顺服主的一代人祷告,使我们既能成为他话语的聆听者,也成为祂话语的实践者。
  • 祷告在学习神的话语时免受干扰和欺骗,并在世界喧闹的敌对声音中认出好牧人的声音。
  • 一边默想圣经经文,一边祷告。“在基督徒的生活中,祷告和神的话语是紧密相连的,如果你把它们断开,两者都会死亡。让我用三种方式总结祷告和神的话语之间的联系:神的话语激发祷告,它深化祷告,它体现祷告。” (约翰·派博,《渴慕上帝》