8/8: Join Day of His Power at 7 regional centres across Singapore.
+
Aa
Day 22 / 22.07.23 / Rev. Andrew Yeo, Executive Director, Festival of Praise Fellowship & FOPx and Pastor, Cornerstone Community Church

Day 22: Boldly sharing Christ

Psalm 34:8 “Taste and see that the Lord is good; blessed is the one who takes refuge in him.”

Winning the next generation for Christ is a crucial mission that all believers should take seriously. 

Young people are exposed to a wide range of ideas and lifestyles that can lead them away from the truth of the Gospel. However, I believe that with the help of the Holy Spirit and our dedication as the body of Christ living out the Great Commission, we can impact the next generation in a powerful way.

As followers of Christ, it is our responsibility to share the Good News of the Gospel with everyone around us. 

However, we often hesitate to talk about our faith with the younger generation out of fear that they might reject our beliefs.

Even youths say it’s hard to talk to other youths about their faith. Sharing our faith with others can be an unnerving task, and it’s not uncommon to feel afraid or uncertain about how to go about it. 

Fear is, in fact, one of the greatest hindrances to sharing Christ. But the Bible tells us that evangelism is an essential part of our calling as Christians. In Mark 16:15, Jesus commands us: “Go into all the world and preach the gospel to every creature.”

This verse makes it clear that evangelism is not optional, but rather an essential part of our mission as believers. So why do we sometimes struggle with fear when it comes to sharing our faith?

One reason may be that we worry about how others will react.

We are afraid of saying the wrong thing and messing up a wonderful friendship, afraid of being asked a question that we can’t answer and afraid of embarrassing God, ourselves, or others. 

But we need to remember that, ultimately, it is not up to us to change people’s hearts – that’s the job of the Holy Spirit. 

Our job is simply to share the Gospel in a loving and respectful way and leave the results up to God.

So how can we overcome our fear in sharing Christ with others? There is no secret ingredient. We just need to step out and tell others about Jesus. Just do it. The more we are intentional in sharing Christ, the less we will remain paralyzed by our fears. 

Typically, when we want to get better at something, we take a class, we look for a better tool and we seek a new strategy. While these things may improve our technique, they don’t really help us to overcome our fears.

We used to lead our young people out into the streets to do street evangelism. And on their first try, I will teach them to start with a smile, saying “hi” and asking: “Hey, is there anything I can pray for you?

I do this with Grab drivers too. On the journey, it is simply a casual conversation and as I reach my destination, I always ask the driver if there are any prayer requests and if I could pray a blessing over them. 

Friends, you will be surprised that, more often than not, the drivers are really open and they respond well. Some even received Jesus as their Lord and Saviour.

We are all naturally evangelists when it comes to the best food to eat, new games and new Netflix shows to binge on. We take pictures and post our reviews on our socials. We are not shy about telling all our friends about it. 

Can we be bolder in sharing Christ? Psalm 34:8 says this: “Taste and see that the Lord is good.” If you have tasted His goodness, if you have tasted His love, then the more we have to share it with others.

So let us not be afraid to evangelise. Let us trust in the power of the Holy Spirit to guide us and give us the courage to share our faith with others. Let us show the love of Christ to the younger generations and be faithful in our mission to make disciples of all nations.

May the Lord Jesus Christ give us a great burden for the lost. In Jesus’ name, Amen.


Download the PDF version of today’s devotional here.

/ Reflect
  • What are the ways you have tasted and seen God’s goodness in your life? 
  • How would you tell these stories of God’s goodness to someone?
  • How will you practise sharing Christ with a pre-believer today?
/ Pray
  • Pray for the boldness and courage to share the Gospel with others, especially with the younger generation. Ask for the fear of rejection or embarrassment to be replaced with confidence in God’s truth and love.
  • Pray for the Holy Spirit to guide you in your evangelistic efforts. Ask God for the right words, wisdom and understanding to effectively communicate the Good News to those who come into your life.
  • Pray specifically for the younger generation, who are exposed to more diverse ideas and lifestyles than any other generation. Ask God to work in their hearts, helping them discern the truth of the Gospel amidst the distractions of the world. Pray for God to stir a genuine interest in them to know more about Christ and His love.

《祂大能之日》华语祷告聚集 • 8月9日 • 不见不散!
+
Aa
2023
Day 22 / 22.07.23 / Rev. Andrew Yeo, Executive Director, Festival of Praise Fellowship & FOPx and Pastor, Cornerstone Community Church

第二十二天:大胆分享基督

诗篇 34:8 “你们要亲身体验,就知道耶和华的美善;投靠祂的人有福了!”

为基督赢得下一代,是所有信徒都应该认真对待的重要使命。

年轻人接触到各种各样的思想和生活方式,这些思想和生活方式可能使他们远离福音的真理。然而,我相信,在圣灵的帮助下,并以我们作为基督身体的奉献精神来实践大使命,我们就能以强有力的方式影响下一代。

作为基督的追随者,我们有责任与周围的每个人分享福音好消息。

然而,我们常常不愿与年轻一代谈论我们的信仰,因为担心他们可能会拒绝我们所相信的。

甚至连年轻人也表示很难与其他年轻人谈论他们的信仰。与他人分享我们的信仰可能是一项令人不安的任务,并且对如何去做感到害怕、或无所适从的情况并不少见。

事实上,恐惧是分享基督的最大障碍之一。但圣经告诉我们,传福音是我们蒙召成为基督徒的重要组成部分。在马可福音 16 章 15 节中,耶稣命令我们:“你们往普天下去,传福音给万民听。

这节经文清楚地表明,传福音不是一个选项,而是我们作为信徒使命的重要组成部分。 那么,为什么我们在分享信仰时,有时会与恐惧作争战呢?

原因之一可能是我们担心别人会如何反应。

我们害怕说错话,破坏美好的友谊,害怕被问到我们无法回答的问题,害怕让上帝、我们自己或他人难堪。

但我们必须记住,最终,我们不能改变人们的心 – 那是圣灵的工作。

我们的工作只是以爱和尊重的方式分享福音,并将结果交给上帝。

那么,我们如何才能克服与他人分享基督的恐惧呢?没有任何秘诀。 我们只需要走出去,告诉别人有关耶稣的事。去做就对了。 我们越刻意地去分享基督,我们就越不会因恐惧而瘫痪。

通常,当我们想在某件事上做得更好时,我们会参加课程,寻找更好的工具,并寻求新的策略。虽然这些事情可能会提高我们的技术,但它们并不能真正帮助我们克服恐惧。

我们曾经带领我们的年轻人到街上去进行街头布道。他们作第一次尝试时,我会教他们以微笑开始,说“嗨”并问:“嘿,有什么我可以为你祷告的吗?

我也对 Grab 私召车司机这样做。在通勤途中,只是随意交谈,到达目的地后,我总会问司机是否有任何祷告的要求、是否可以为他们祈福祷告。

朋友们,你会惊讶地发现,司机们往往都很开放,而且反应良好。 有些人甚至接受耶稣为他们的主和救主。

每当谈到最好吃的食物、新的游戏和新的 Netflix 节目时,我们都是天生的宣传者。我们拍照并在社交媒体上发布评论。我们告诉所有的朋友这些事情时,一点都不会觉得不好意思。

我们可以更大胆地分享基督吗?诗篇 34 篇 8 节这样说:“你们要尝尝主恩的滋味,便知道他是美善。” 如果你尝过祂的美善,如果你尝过祂的爱,那么我们就更应该与别人分享。

因此,让我们不要害怕传福音。让我们倚靠圣灵的大能来引导、也给我们勇气与他人分享我们的信仰。让我们向年轻一代表达基督的爱,并忠于我们使万民成为门徒的使命。


这里下载今日灵修的PDF版本。

/ 反思
  • 你在生活中以什么方式尝到和看到神的良善?
  • 你会如何向某人讲述这些有关上帝良善的故事?
  • 今天你将如何操练与待信者分享基督?
/ 祷告
  • 祈求神赐下胆量和勇气跟他人、特别是年轻一代分享福音。求上帝以对祂的真理和爱的信心来取代面对拒绝或尴尬的惧怕。
  • 祈求圣灵引导你的传福音工作。祈求上帝赐予正确的话语、智慧和理解力,以便有效地将好消息传达给那些进入你生活的人。
  • 特别为年轻一代祷告,他们比其他世代的人所接触到的思想和生活方式更加多样化。求神在他们心里动工,帮助他们在世界的纷扰中辨别福音的真理。祈求上帝激发他们真正的兴趣,更多地了解基督和祂的爱。