8/8: Join Day of His Power at 7 regional centres across Singapore.
+
Aa
Day 21 / 21.07.23 / Pastor Samuel Lee, Youth Pastor, Church of our Saviour

Day 21: A heart for the next generation

2 Kings 14:25, Jonah 3:1-10

Let’s talk about the next generation. Let’s talk about winning the youth of Singapore. 

We do this by fulfilling the Great Commission for both the young and those who do not know Him. It is a call and purpose, something many young ones are trying to find today. 

Dietrich Bonhoeffer says the Christian’s calling registers the final radical protests against the world, and what better protest than conversion of someone immersed in the world to be baptised into godliness? What better protest than to inspire a younger one to walk in the ways of the many witnesses who have come before? 

Here we take a look at the book of Jonah to see him wrestle with this call, as perhaps some of us might experience. 

We see Jonah beginning with the Word of the Lord coming to him to go and preach to the great city of Nineveh – a call we, too, have experienced and received in the Great Commission. Jonah responds to this call by fleeing to Tarshish. Here we see why he might have disobeyed.

1. He fled due to his negative interaction with those he was called to reach out to. Nineveh was a city renowned for its cruelty and violence. It was prospering in its economy. Most importantly, it was an enemy of Israel. Many of us experience a Nineveh in our marketplace and in our schools or army camps – they are unlovable, many even our enemies.

They know our way of life, they potentially judge it and we experience increasing condemnation, even bullying, from them. Yet, this is the very place, the very school or camp, we are called to love and win over for Christ. Let us love them. Let us win them over to Christ. 

2. Jonah was not willing to change his ministry. In the book of 2 Kings 14:25, we learn that Jonah was ministering by prophesying to his own people, the people of God. 

Here, in Jonah 1, he is called to reach out to the city of Nineveh and he fumbles. 

Let us not make the mistake of remaining within the church walls, but go outside as well. Let us allow God to mould our ministry and to reach out to others.

3. Jonah was following his will and being disobedient to God’s. A youth I know told me he has decided to join a CCA – not because he is passionate about the CCA – but because he is passionate about the people in his CCA. He felt it was God’s will for him to reach out to them.

God isn’t looking for competency here, nor experience, but a heart for unlovable people, a willingness to say it is for this reason I am in this school. It is for these people I would choose this CCA. 

We might be tempted to think Jonah is the main character in this story, but he certainly isn’t. 

God is the One that gives the Word. He initiates and sends the storm, commands the fish and gives a second chance to Jonah. 

It is God who wanted Nineveh to be saved, God who desired their repentance and salvation. 

It is God who also gave His one and only Son, that whoever believes in Him shall not perish but have eternal life. 

Jesus, who was sent from Heaven to earth, was the better Jonah. He was kind to the poor, He was with the sinners, loving the lost, giving of his life daily. The Spirit of the Lord was upon Him and He saved as many as He could and preached to as many as He could. 

Today, he calls us to go into the great city of Singapore to win our youth for Him. Will you heed that call? Let us pray:

Father, would You fill us with your Holy Spirit, even as we go forth from here into each school, and each army camp and each marketplace that we have? 

Lord, we pray that You give us a heart filled with love for our youth. I pray that our youths will love the unlovable, the less fortunate, the poor, and bless those around them. 

May they be so aware of the Great Commission, may it loom in their minds as a call to go forth from here.

We pray all this in Jesus’ name, Amen.


Download the PDF version of today’s devotional here.

/ Reflect
  • In what way is Singapore like Nineveh?
  • Who or what is your Nineveh?
  • How will you be obedient to God’s call to share the Gospel with those outside of your church walls?
/ Pray
  • The Ninevehs in our lives can often be the most challenging to minister to, but they also can provide us with the most rewarding experiences when we see them turn towards Christ. Pray for God’s love to flood your heart, so that you can show unconditional love to these individuals and communities, even in the face of their judgment, condemnation or bullying.
  • Pray for a heart that is open and willing to change the way you conduct your ministry. As Christians, we should not confine ourselves within the church walls, but should step out to meet people where they are. Pray that God moulds and shapes your ministry to effectively reach out to those who need to hear the Gospel.
  • Pray for obedience to follow God’s will, even when it might not align with your personal desires or plans. Pray for the conviction and courage to make decisions that align with God’s purpose for you, that you may be a vessel for His love and message of salvation.

《祂大能之日》华语祷告聚集 • 8月9日 • 不见不散!
+
Aa
2023
Day 21 / 21.07.23 / Pastor Samuel Lee, Youth Pastor, Church of our Saviour

第二十一天:关注下一代

列王纪下 14:25,约拿书 3:1-10

让我们关注下一代。让我们关注如何得着新加坡青少年。

关注的方式之一,就是去完成大使命,使年轻人和那些不信主的人都认识祂。现今,许多年轻人正在寻找人生的呼召和目的。 

德国神学家迪特里希·朋霍费尔曾说,基督徒的呼召就是对这世界的最大抗议。一个原本属世的人,接受洗礼,追求敬虔生活,试问还有什么比这个更好的抗议呢?激励年轻人跟随众多见证人的信心脚步,试问还有什么比这个更好的抗议呢?

在约拿书里,我们看到约拿如何抗拒上帝的呼召。或许我们有些人也有相同的挣扎。

耶和华的话临到约拿,叫他往尼尼微大城去宣告祂所吩咐的话。同样地,我们从大使命中获得主的呼召。然而,约拿选择往他施去,以逃避上帝的呼召。让我们一起探讨为何约拿没有顺服上帝的吩咐。

第一,他逃离是因为他被呼召去接触那些和他有负面交流的人。尼尼微是一座大城,以残暴行为和繁荣经济著称。更关键的是,它是以色列的敌人。在职场、学校或军营中,我们难免会遇到“尼尼微”,他们是不可爱的人,很多甚至是我们的敌人。

他们熟悉我们的生活方式,甚至会批评我们,导致我们经历越来越多的谴责或欺凌。然而,我们就是被呼召走进这些地方,不管是学校或军营;我们就是被呼召去接触这些人,为基督得着他们。让我们学习去爱他们。让我们为基督赢得他们。

第二,约拿不愿意改变他的事工。在列王纪下14:25节,我们看到约拿向自己的族人发预言,这些人即是上帝的子民。

在约拿书第1章,他被呼召往尼尼微去宣告上帝的话,但他犯下失误。

我们也不可有所失误,老是待在教会里。我们要走出去。让上帝来塑造我们的事工,使我们多去接触他人。

第三,约拿体贴自己的意愿,不顺服上帝的旨意。我认识的一个少年告诉我,他决定参加某项课程辅助活动(CCA),不是因为他热衷于那个活动,而是因为他关心该活动的成员。他认为这是上帝的旨意,要他去接触这些成员。

上帝要寻找的,不是我们的能力或经验,而是我们有没有爱人的心,尤其是爱不可爱的人。因为爱,我们选择某所学校。因为爱,我们选择某项活动。

我们可能误以为约拿是这个故事的主角,但他不是。

上帝的吩咐临到。祂发起风暴,安排一条大鱼吞了约拿,并给约拿第二次机会。

上帝要尼尼微人得救,渴望他们悔改和得救赎。

上帝赐下祂的独生子,叫一切信耶稣的,不致灭亡,反得永生。

道成肉身的耶稣是更好的约拿。祂奉献自己的生命,善待穷人、与罪人在一起,关心失丧的人。上帝的灵在祂身上,祂全力以赴,为要拯救更多的人、向更多的人传福音。

今天,耶稣呼召我们进入新加坡这座大城,为祂赢得我们的青少年。你愿意回应这个呼召吗?让我们祷告:

天父啊,祈求祢的圣灵来充满我们,使我们从所在地出发,进入每一所学校、每一个军营、每一个职场。

主啊,祈求祢赐我们一颗关爱青少年的心。我们也祈求,我们的青少年将爱那些不可爱的人、不幸的人和穷人,并祝福他们身边的人。

祈愿我们的青少年都顺服大使命的呼召,为主的工蓄势待发。

我们奉耶稣的名祷告,阿们。


这里下载今日灵修的PDF版本。

/ 反思
  • 新加坡在哪些方面像尼尼微?
  • 谁或什么是你的尼尼微?
  • 你将如何顺服上帝的呼召,与教会外的人分享福音?
/ 祷告
  • 在我们生活中的尼尼微,往往是最具挑战性的服事对象,但当他们归向基督时,我们就会获得无比价值的经历。祈求上帝的爱充满你的心,即使面对评判、谴责或欺凌,你都能以无条件的爱去关心这些人或社群。
  • 祈求一颗开放和愿意的心,去改变你现有的服事方式作为基督徒,我们不应把自己局限在教会里,而是要走出去,走进人群中。祈求上帝来塑造你的事工,好让你能有效地接触那些需要听到福音的人。
  • 祈求顺服的心,遵行上帝的旨意,即使上帝的吩咐可能不符合你个人的意愿或计划。祈求主赐你确信和勇气,做出符合祂旨意的决定,使你成为传递主爱和救赎信息的器皿。