8/8: Join Day of His Power at 7 regional centres across Singapore.
+
Aa
Day 31 / 31.07.23 / Joseph Chean, Strategic Coordinator, Antioch 21

Day 31: His dwelling among us

Isaiah 65:1-2 “I revealed myself to those who did not ask for me; I was found by those who did not seek me. To a nation that did not call on my name, I said, ‘Here am I, here am I.’ All day long I have held out my hands to an obstinate people, who walk in ways not good, pursuing their own imaginations—”John 1:14 “The Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us. We have seen his glory, the glory of the one and only Son, who came from the Father, full of grace and truth.”

Isaiah’s revelation of God is that He’s a proactive God. A God who does not wait for a nation, a people, a family or an individual to call on His name. 

God is someone who, if there are 1,000 steps between God and us, God will take the 999 steps to close the gap. And He invites humanity to choose Him and to take that one step towards Him. God will make everything possible for humanity to see Him, to experience Him, to know Him and, ultimately, to choose Him.

So how does God do that? “And the Word became flesh and made His dwelling amongst us. We have seen His glory, the glory of the one and only who came from the Father, full of grace and truth.” (John 1:14)

John’s definition of the glory of God is beyond just a cloud of fire. To John, the glory of God is a person. It has flesh that you can touch, that you can relate to. In fact, the glory of God is the character of God. He came in a form of full grace and truth. 

Now what does it mean when Paul says in 2 Corinthians 3:3 that we are letters from Christ? Paul is saying that we are now representations of Jesus and of God to humanity. And God’s invitation to all of us is to know Him, His character and His ways. And out of knowing Him, that the Word of God becomes so real in our lives. And this transformation between God and us will result in us carrying the Word and becoming flesh. 

Now The Message Bible has this translation: “And the word became flesh and blood and moved into our neighbourhood. The neighbourhood has seen His glory, the glory of the one and only who came from the Father, full of grace and truth.” 

Now that’s God’s invitation to us – that we who behold Him, who understand who He is, who experience Him, will let this Word transform us and that we become that Word that steps into the neighbourhood – our offices, our classrooms, our streets – so that all will see the character of God in and through us. Full of grace and truth. 

Now missions is an extension of this discipleship. Missions is not just a task. Missions is a relationship with God, where discipleship is translated into action, and that discipleship transforms us, and as we step out into the nations and as we dwell amongst the community, as we dwell amongst the unreached people groups (UPGs), they will see the character of God in and through us. That is what it means, the Word became flesh and moved into the nation and moved into the neighbourhood. Let us pray:

May the Word of God dwell in our hearts richly. May the Word of God, the character and the ways of God transform you richly and deeply as you take hold of that Word and as you step into your offices, your classrooms, your neighbourhoods and streets. 

May God reveal who He is in and through you. And as you take this further into the nations, may the nations see God in and through you.

May the blessings of God rest upon us all, Amen.


Download the PDF version of today’s devotional here.

/ Reflect
  • Recall how you have seen God take the initiative to pursue you in your life.
  • How do you see your communities with the new perspective that Christ is actively present in them?
  • What is one way the Holy Spirit wants to transform you to be a representation of Jesus Christ to others in your community? 
/ Pray
  • Thank God for the depth of His love for us despite our distraction, our detachment and our delusions of self-sufficiency. Pray for submission to His Fatherhood, satisfaction in His friendship and reverence for His Kingship.
  • Ask God to remove worldly distractions and mindsets that hinder the manifestation of His Presence.There are seasons when we become neglectful of God and give him no thought and do not put trust in him and we find him ‘unmanifested’ — that is, unperceived as great and beautiful and valuable by the eyes of our hearts. His face — the brightness of his personal character — is hidden behind the curtain of our carnal desires.” (John Piper) 
  • Pray that God’s Word transforms us to such a degree that we become living letters of Christ, embodying His grace, love and humility. Ask God to manifest His character in our daily lives, that we may become His voice, His hands and feet in our neighbourhoods, work places, and homes.

《祂大能之日》华语祷告聚集 • 8月9日 • 不见不散!
+
Aa
2023
Day 31 / 31.07.23 / Joseph Chean, Strategic Coordinator, Antioch 21

第三十一天:祂住在我们中间

以赛亚书 65:1-2 “耶和华说:“我向没有求问我的人显现,让没有寻找我的人寻见,对没有求告我的国家说,‘我在这里,我在这里!’ 我整天伸出双手招呼一群悖逆的百姓,他们却任意妄为,不走正路”

约翰福音 1:14
“道成为肉身,住在我们中间,充满了恩典和真理。我们见过祂的荣耀,正是父独一儿子的荣耀。”

上帝给以赛亚的启示是:祂是一位主动的上帝。祂不会坐着等候一个国家、民族、家庭或个人来呼求祂的名。

如果上帝和我们之间相距1000步,祂是走999步的那位。祂邀请人类选择祂、只要向祂迈出一步。上帝定意把一切不可能变为可能,就是要人类看到祂、体验祂、了解祂并最终选择祂。

那么神是怎么做到的呢? 约翰福音 1: 14,“道成了肉身,住在我们中间, 充充满满地有恩典,有真理。我们也见过他的荣光,正是父独生子的荣光。

约翰对神荣耀的定义不仅仅是一片云彩或火柱。对他而言,神的荣耀是一个人。你不止可以触摸到祂,也能与祂建立关系。事实上,神的荣耀就是神的属性。祂以完全恩典和真理的形式出现。

在哥林多后书3:3中说到“你们明显是基督的信”时,保罗是说现在的我们,是代表耶稣和神的身份进到人群中。上帝对所有人发出了邀请:要认识祂、认识祂的属性和祂的道。因着认识祂,神的话在我们的生活中变得如此真实。而神与我们之间的这种转化,使我们得以带着道成肉身的耶稣进到人群中。

信息圣经版本的记载,“这道成了肉身和血, 进入我们的社区。这社区已经看见了祂的荣耀;那来自独一真神的荣耀,充满着恩典和真理。

那是神对我们发出的邀请 — 就是我们这些仰望祂、认识祂、经历祂的人;不单是让这道改变我们,也成为那道,进入到社区里 — 就是我们的职场、教室、街道,而周遭的人都能够从我们身上、或透过我们,看到上帝的属性。充满着恩典和真理。

现在,宣教是门徒训练的延伸。宣教不仅仅是一项任务。宣教是与神有关系,进一步转化门训为行动,强化我们的改变;当我们走进列国,当我们置身在社区里,当我们居住在未得之民的群体中,他们将从我们身上、并透过我们,看到上帝的属性。这就是它的含义,道成肉身,潜移默化进到各国家,各社区里。让我们祷告:

愿神的话语丰丰富富地住在我们心里。在你紧捉住神话语时,不论是踏入办公室、教室、走在社区和走在街道上,祂的话语、属性和真道,要丰厚又深刻地翻转改变你。

愿上帝在你身上,透过你,显明祂是谁。当你进一步把这带到万国时,愿万国在你身上,透过你,见着上帝。

愿上帝的祝福临到我们每一个人,阿们。


这里下载今日灵修的PDF版本。

/ 反思
  • 回想在你的生命中,你是如何看见神主动寻求你的。
  • 你会如何以基督积极的新视角看待你的社区?
  • 圣灵用什么方式改变你,使你在你社区里,成为耶稣基督的代表?
/ 祷告
  • 尽管我们容易心烦意乱、又玩疏离且自以为是,感谢神对我们不离不弃的爱。祈求我们能顺服祂的主权,满足祂的情谊,并尊崇祂的王权。
  • 祈求神挪去世俗的干扰和心态,让基督显明。有时候,我们会轻慢上帝,不去思考祂,不信任祂,我们总认为祂‘没有显现’– 也就是说,我们的心不认为祂是伟大、美丽和有价值的。 殊不知祂的脸 — 祂本性的光芒 — 都被我们肉体的欲望所遮盖了。” (约翰·派博)
  • 祈求神的话语改变我们,使我们成为基督活生生的信件,体现出祂的恩典、慈爱和谦卑。在日常生活中彰显祂的品格,在所处的社区、职场和家庭中,成为祂的声音、祂的手、祂的脚。