SAVE THE DATE! Day of His Power • 8 Aug • 8pm
+
Aa
2024
Day 11 / 11.07.24 / Colonel Hary Haran, Territorial Commander (Singapore, Malaysia, Myanmar & Thailand Territory) of The Salvation Army

Day 11: He will give you rest

Matthew 11:28-30 “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”

As we face another workday, I can imagine some of us to be carrying the weight of the daily grind. A tough economy and an increasingly uncertain world do not help. Endless work and life expectations that are upon us, including those of our own expectations, have clearly taken a heavy toll on some of us.

May I ask of you to heed the call of Jesus Christ that you come to Him, all you who are weary and burdened, and He will give you rest.

I am speaking about true rest, not the kind of downtime the world speaks about. This is not about finding escape at the gym or sipping another glass of wine or booking the next vacation.

Rather, I speak of rest in the Lord that works deep within our souls, one that grants us the sense of being in the will of our Creator.

Jesus said: “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” (Matthew 11:28-30)

In the Book of Exodus, upon hearing the cries for mercy and justice, God spoke to Pharaoh, the King of Egypt: “Let my people go!”

Sadly, Pharaoh rebutted God and said: “Who is the Lord, that I should obey him?”

Pharaoh was indeed the King of Egypt. But God is the King of Kings and the Lord of Lords, the Name Above All Names.

I speak of rest in the Lord that works deep within our souls, one that grants us the sense of being in the will of our Creator.

Perhaps the Pharaoh that is holding you in bondage is not your boss, not your colleague, not your spouse, or your parents. It may be that the enthroned Pharaoh in your life that keeps you on a tight leash is you, your flesh, or your ego.

And the subtitles of your heart clearly shout: Who is the Lord, that I should obey him? Does he not know of my work deadlines? The amount of financial debt I need to service? My performance improvement plan? My quotas? My sales targets? My unsupportive spouse? My horrible job appraisal? Does he know the politics of my workplace?

Yet God clearly says: “Let my people go!” Let go and let God do His work in your life, my friends.

And in so doing, one’s softened heart would be able to empathise, knowing that God’s compassion still goes to the last, the least and the lost.

As much as God gives His ears to our cries, His heart goes to the vulnerable, the marginalised, the weak and the disadvantaged. How we treat the last, least and the lost defines who we are as a society and a community.

And so we ponder the issue of being a blessing to the nations. Accord them – for instance, the migrant domestic worker in your own household – with dignity and respect. Let us do right within our own yard. And, as a body of Christ, may our God-inspired compassion spur the wider Singapore public to accord that same dignity and respect to the migrant workers working and living in Singapore.

Let go and let God do His work in your life.

My friends, let not the pattern of this world overwhelm the wiring of your mind and heart: I’m talking about the endless fear of losing out to others in school, at work, the overwhelming expectation-led worries, or rat-race anxieties, or false dilemmas and other fear-mongering factors that constrict us from allowing Christ to be central to our lives. The Pharaoh in you ought to submit to God’s call: “Let my people go!”

And in the same way, just as we are dearly loved children of God, may those of us who are parents remove any unjust burden that we might have laid upon our children. We are mere shepherds and stewards of the lives entrusted to us. Let go and let God be the author of their lives and their faith journeys. Not us.

Let me end with a short word of encouragement. Ephesians 5:1 says: “Follow God’s example, therefore, as dearly loved children and walk in the way of love, just as Christ loved us and gave himself up for us as a fragrant offering and sacrifice to God.

Let’s pray:

Father, we thank You for Your unconditional love. We thank You for the work of Your Holy Spirit that will help us and lead us and keep us in step. All for Jesus. Amen.

/ Reflect
  • Open your eyes to the nations within Singapore. Who do you see? What is one way you can reach out to bless the domestic worker in your home, the cleaner in your HDB corridor, the gardener in your park, the construction worker or garbage collector in your neighbourhood?
  • Is there a “Pharaoh” in your heart? What do you find difficult to let go of in exchange for true rest in the Lord?
  • What does Christ’s sacrifice for us inspire you to sacrifice for the last, the least and the lost in our midst and in the nations?
/ Pray
  • Pray for spiritual discernment on how you can be God’s labourer to make disciples of all nations. Ask for insight into the role God has laid out for you to advance His Kingdom.
  • Pray for a sacrificial spirit that seeks others’ welfare over your own comfort. Consider the needs of the field and ask for open eyes and an open heart to respond in compassion and in faith.
  • Pray for those whom God has put in your life to shepherd and steward. Seek wisdom and insight, and pray for them to seek and find the Lord, so that as they are discipled, they will go on to disciple others.

《祂大能之日》华语祷告聚集 • 8月9日 • 不见不散!
+
Aa
2024
Day 11 / 11.07.24 / 哈利准将,救世军地区总指挥(新加坡、马来西亚、缅甸和泰国领土)

第十一天:祂使你得安息

马太福音11:28-30 “凡劳苦担重担的人可以到我这里来,我就使你们得安息。 我心里柔和谦卑,你们当负我的轭,学我的样式;这样,你们心里就必得享安息。 因为我的轭是容易的,我的担子是轻省的。”

当我们面对又一个工作日时,我可以想象有些人背负着日常工作的重担。经济不景气和难以预测的世界局势更让你雪上加霜,无止境的工作和生活压力,包括我们自己的期望,显然已把一些人压得喘不过气。

我鼓励你回应耶稣基督的呼召 —— 凡劳苦担重担的人,可以到祂那里去,祂就使你们得安息。

我说的是真正的安息,不是世人所理解的休息时间。不是指抽空到健身房,也不是小酌一杯酒,或计划下一场旅行。

我指的是在主里面的安息,在我们的灵魂深处动工,让我们归属在造物主的旨意中。

耶稣说:凡劳苦担重担的人可以到我这里来,我就使你们得安息。 我心里柔和谦卑,你们当负我的轭,学我的样式;这样,你们心里就必得享安息。 因为我的轭是容易的,我的担子是轻省的。” (马太福音11:28-30)

在出埃及记中,上帝听到了人们的哀声,呼求怜悯和公义,因此祂对埃及的国王法老说:“容我的百姓去!” 

遗憾的是,法老反驳上帝说:“耶和华是谁,使我听他的话?”

虽然法老是埃及的国王,但上帝是万王之王、万主之主,祂的名超乎万名之上。

我指的是在主里面的安息,在我们的灵魂深处动工,让我们归属在造物主的旨意中。

也许束缚你的法老不是你的老板、同事、配偶,也不是你的父母。也许你在生命中高举的法老和约束你生命的是你自己,你的肉体,你的自我。

你内心的潜台词清楚喊道:“耶和华是谁,使我听他的话?”。 “难道祂不知道我的工作期限、我需要偿还的债务、我的绩效改进计划、我的配额、我的销售目标、不让我省心的配偶、我糟糕的工作评估?难道祂不知道我经历的办公室政治吗?”

但上帝明确地说:“容我的百姓去!” 因此,放手交给上帝,让祂的旨意行在你的生命中。

只有这样做,我们变柔软的心,才有能力去感同身受,知道上帝的怜悯之心依然向着那最被忽视、最卑微和最失落的人。

正如上帝倾听我们的呼求一样,祂的心也向着那些脆弱、被边缘化、软弱的弱势群体。我们如何对待这些最被忽视、最卑微和最失落的人将反映出我们是什么样的社会和社群。

同样的,当我们面对自家的帮佣,理当尊重和善待她们。让我们从自己的家做起。作为基督的肢体,愿我们这颗效法上帝的怜悯之心能激发新加坡的广大民众,去尊重和善待在新加坡工作和生活的外籍劳工。

放手交给上帝,让祂的旨意行在你的生命中。

不要让世界的样式占据你的心思意念。我指的是在学校、工作或生活中害怕输给别人;过高期望导致忧郁;竞争激烈引发焦虑;伪困境,以及任何其他会造成恐慌的因素,都会限制我们无法以基督为生命的中心。你内心的法老应当降服于上帝的呼召:“容我的百姓去!”

同样的,正如我们是上帝深爱的孩子一样,为人父母的我们也应当卸去一切加在孩子身上不公的重担。我们只是牧人和管家,被上帝托付去照顾这些孩子。放手让上帝成为孩子生命的主宰,主导孩子的信仰旅程。

最后,我想用一处经文来鼓励你。取自以弗所书5:1-2,“所以,你们该效法上帝,好像蒙慈爱的儿女一样。也要凭爱心行事,正如基督爱我们,为我们舍了自己,当做馨香的供物和祭物,献与上帝。”

这一切都是为了耶稣。

让我们一起祷告:

天父,感谢祢无条件的爱。我们感谢圣灵的工作,祂帮助我们,引导我们,让我们与祢同步。一切都是为了耶稣。阿们。

/ 反思
  • 看看在新加坡的外籍工人,你看到了谁?你可以如何去祝福家中的女佣、政府组屋走廊的清洁工人、公园里的园丁、建筑工人或是住宅区收集垃圾的工人?
  • 你心里是否住着一个“法老”?对你来说最难放手交托、能让你安息在上帝里面的是什么?
  • 基督为我们所做的牺牲如何激励你为世上最被忽视、最卑微、最失落的人做出牺牲?
/ 祷告
  • 祈求上帝赐下属灵洞察力,让你知道如何成为上帝的工人,使万民作主的门徒。求上帝让你深入了解祂安排你在扩张祂国度中的角色。
  • 祈求上帝赐你为他人牺牲的精神,视他人福祉多过自身好处。考虑禾场的需求,可以打开双眼、敞开心,带着怜悯之心和信心去回应。
  • 为上帝放在我们生命中要牧养和照顾的人祷告。祈求上帝给我们智慧和洞察力。祷告他们寻求主就必寻见,并让他们被门训后,也会去门训他人。