SAVE THE DATE! Day of His Power • 8 Aug • 8pm
+
Aa
2024
Day 10 / 10.07.24 / Rev Dr Joshua Sudharman, Warden of St Peter's Hall

Day 10: How do we define success?

Mark 8:36 What good is it for someone to gain the whole world, yet forfeit their soul?

Question: Who is the most successful person in the world in your opinion? Keep that name in mind.

Next question: Which is the most successful nation in the world in your opinion? Keep that nation in mind.

Whoever the individual was that you thought of as being most successful, chances are, many other people think the same of them and envy them. This individual would be a hero and a benchmark that many others peg their aspirations to.

Whichever nation it was that came to mind, chances are, many other nations around the world envy this nation, and millions of people around the world wish their own nation was as successful as this nation. 

We live in Singapore – one of the most successful and envied nations in the world – and we are full of very wealthy and successful people. In fact we have become a magnet for the super wealthy. Remember how the movie Crazy Rich Asians was largely based here? 

To the successful, and those aspiring to be successful, Jesus has a sobering but life-saving message: “For what does it profit a man to gain the whole world and forfeit his soul?” (Mark 8:36)

And by extension, He would say about nations: “For what does it profit a nation to gain the whole world and forfeit its soul?”

What does Jesus mean for a man or nation to gain the whole world? That’s easy to understand. When you’re top in every chart: Winner of a scholarship to a prestigious university, promoted to the C-suite at a young age, glamorously good-looking spouse, live in a good-class bungalow, drive a supercar, top-grossing internet influencer. Or the best airport, lowest unemployment, lowest crime rate, highest per capita GDP, best education system, best transport system, and so forth. 

But what did Jesus mean when he said “forfeit his soul”? 

A person’s soul is the innermost part of them, which gives life to their bodies and will ultimately outlive their bodies. It is that intangible part that is created in the image of God, and sets us apart from every other living creature.

The soul is only able to live when connected to God, and dies when disconnected from God. 

The life source of a soul is God’s presence. To be separated from God as our life source is to forfeit your soul. No amount of success, accomplishments, money, possessions, awards and human accolades, pleasure or power can compensate and keep your soul alive.

If we believe that these trappings of success can give life to our souls, we have believed a lie. These things not only do not give us life, but they distract us and divert us from the one thing that does give life to our souls, which is an intimate and close relationship with God our Maker.

Redefining success

How can Singapore, this shining gem of a nation, not forfeit her soul? There is no other way than to redefine success.  

According to Jesus, the most successful person or nation is the one whose soul is in good shape, not just for now, but for eternity. 

God wants Singaporeans and Singapore to succeed, but to succeed in the things that matter most. 

He wants Singapore to have a relationship, even an intimate relationship, with Him. He wants Singaporeans to turn toward Him, to know Him, and to be in love with Him.

The soul is only able to live when connected to God, and dies when disconnected from God. 

It comes down to priorities. Every person who is successful has to make sacrifices and trade-offs, and that is true for success in business, sports, or politics, or whatever. 

You have to prioritise certain things and de-prioritise other things. You can’t do everything. There just isn’t enough time.

So when we redefine success to the way Jesus defines success, it means that we need to make certain trade-offs and sacrifices. In attaining the success that truly matters for all eternity, we may have to sacrifice some of the success the rest of the world chases. 

We can’t have everything. We have to choose, because there just isn’t enough time to have your cake and eat it, too.

So, my fellow Singaporeans, whose view of success are you going to subscribe to? The world’s view, or Jesus’ view? 

That successful individual you thought of at the start of this message – is that person still your hero, your measure of success? If it is someone whose soul is in an intimate relationship with God, then you have a good model to emulate. If not, please find a better hero. 

Let’s pray:

Dear Lord Jesus, You speak some hard truths that we need to hear. Open our eyes to see that we were wrong and You are right. Help us respond by a change in our priorities, for Your sake, and for our soul’s sake. 

Amen.

/ Reflect
  • In honestly evaluating your priorities, what would you re-prioritise in order to “profit your soul”?
  • In what way can you contribute to the “success” of Singapore by God’s standards? 
  • How will you pray for leaders in Government, church, industries, schools and community to pursue a success that is sanctioned by God?
/ Pray
  • Pray for a deep desire to know God, convinced that the greatest fulfilment of our soul is to be found in Him. You will seek me and find me, when you seek me with all your heart.” (Jeremiah 29:13)
  • Pray for our nation’s leaders, confident that He has sovereignly placed them in authority and marked the days for which He will use them for His purposes. Pray that, by His mighty hand, He will be merciful to our nation to work in the hearts of those to whom He has given authority.
  • Intercede for those whose hearts are cold towards God. Pray that they would believe in Christ as Saviour (John 5:24) and confess Him as Lord (Romans 10:9-10), so that they, too, might live within the grace of God.

《祂大能之日》华语祷告聚集 • 8月9日 • 不见不散!
+
Aa
2024
Day 10 / 10.07.24 / 约书亚牧师博士,圣彼得楼舍监

第十天:如何定义成功

马可福音8:36 人就是赚得全世界,赔上自己的生命,有什么益处呢?

请问你认为世界上最成功的人是谁?记住这个名字。下一个问题:你认为世界上最成功的国家是哪个?记住这个国家。

刚才在你脑海中浮现出那个最成功的人,很可能许多人也对他有同样的想法,并羡慕着他。或许对你来说这个人是英雄,更是许多人设定梦想的标准。无论你刚才想到的是哪个国家,很可能许多国家也羡慕它,世界各地成千上万的人也希望自己的国家会像它一样成功。

我们生活在新加坡,世界上最成功、最令人羡慕的国家之一,这里有很多非常富裕和成功的人。我们甚至成为吸引超级富豪的磁铁。几年前的电影“疯狂富豪”也主要以新加坡为背景。

然而,耶稣给所有成功和想成功的人一个令人警醒且关乎生死的信息:“人就是赚得全世界,赔上自己的生命,有什么益处呢?”(马可福音8:36)同样的,祂也会对各国家说:“国家就是赚得全世界,赔上自己的生命,有什么益处呢?”

当耶稣说 “人或国家赢得全世界” 这意味着什么?挺容易理解的,当你各方面都名列前茅:名牌大学的奖学金得主;年纪轻轻就晋升管理层;有着光鲜亮丽的配偶;住在高级别墅;驾着超级跑车;是一名最赚钱的网红等等。一个国家要拥有最佳的机场;最低的失业率;最低的犯罪率;最高的人均国内总产值;最好的教育制度;最好的交通系统等。

耶稣说的 “赔上生命” 又是什么?它关乎我们的灵魂。一个人的灵魂是他们最深处的部分,它赋予身体生命,会比肉体活得更久。这无形的部分是按照上帝的形象所造,是人类与其他被造物的不同之处。

灵魂只有在与上帝相连时才能存活,一旦与祂分离就会灭亡。

灵魂的生命源头是上帝的同在,与我们的生命源头 – 上帝分离,就意味着赔上了灵魂。再多的成功、成就、金钱、财产、奖项、荣誉、乐趣和权力也无法取代上帝使你的灵魂存活。若我们相信这些成功的装饰可以赋予灵魂生命,就等于相信了谎言。这些东西不只不能给我们生命,还会使我们分心,偏离我们灵魂唯一的生命源头,失去与创造主 – 上帝的亲密关系。

重新定义成功

新加坡这颗璀璨的宝石要如何才能不赔上灵魂呢?唯一的方法就是重新定义成功。据耶稣所说,最成功的人或国家要拥有健康的灵魂,不只是现在,而是直到永生。

上帝希望新加坡人以及新加坡这个国家都成功,但是要在最重要的事情上取得成功。上帝希望新加坡和祂建立关系,亲密的关系,将祂视为生命的源头。祂希望新加坡人转向祂、认识祂、深爱祂。

灵魂只有在与上帝相连时才能存活,一旦与祂分离就会灭亡。

这要归结于优先次序。每个成功的人都必须做出牺牲和权衡,这意味着我们要懂得取舍。当我们按照耶稣的旨意重新定义成功时,我们就需要在生命中做出某些牺牲。为了取得永恒国度里真正的成功,我们需要放弃一些世人所追求的成功。我们不可能拥有一切。因为时间有限,我们必须取舍,鱼与熊掌不能兼得。

新加坡同胞们,你会选择哪种成功观呢?是属世的观念还是耶稣的观念?开始时你想到的那位你认为成功的人,现在还是你的英雄吗?还是你对成功的标准吗?如果他的灵魂与上帝有着亲密的关系,那你就有一个好榜样可以效仿,但如果不是,请找一位更好的英雄。

让我们一起祷告:

亲爱的主耶稣,祢说了一些我们需要听到的残酷真理。打开我们的双眼,好叫我们能够分辨哪些地方我们错了,祢才是对的。赐我们恩典去检视和重列生活中的优先次序,让我们的灵魂能因此苏醒。

如此祷告是为着祢的荣耀,也为着我们的灵魂,阿们。

/ 反思
  • 诚实地评估你的优先事项,你会如何重列优先次序让“生命得益处?”
  • 按上帝的标准,你能以什么方式为新加坡的成功做出贡献?
  • 你会如何为政府、教会、职场、学校和社群中的领袖祷告,让他们追求上帝所认可的成功?
/ 祷告
  • 祷告我们更渴慕认识上帝,坚信祂是我们灵魂最大的满足。你们寻求我, 若专心寻求我,就必寻见。(耶利米书29:13)
  • 为我们的国家领袖来祷告,相信上帝已赐下权柄,使用他们来成就旨意。求上帝大能的手施恩怜悯,让国民与上帝赋权的领袖同心同工。
  • 为那些对上帝冷淡退后的人代祷。祷告他们会相信基督是我们的救主  (约翰福音5:24) 并承认祂是我们的主 (罗马书10:9-10),这样他们就能活在上帝的恩典中。